Eli Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata treatment has reached a new patient population after the U.S. Food and Drug Administration approved the once-daily pill for adolescents 12 years of age and older with severe alopecia areata, Eli Lilly and Company (NYSE: LLY) announced September 25, 2026. The expanded label builds on Olumiant’s existing approvals in adults with severe alopecia areata (AA) and moderately to severely active rheumatoid arthritis, and it marks the first FDA clearance of a systemic AA treatment specifically evaluated in a pediatric-designed Phase 3 trial.
The Eli Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata approval arrives against a backdrop of significant disease burden. Alopecia areata is a chronic immune-mediated disease that triggers unpredictable, patchy or complete hair loss on the scalp, eyebrows, and eyelashes. As many as 2% of people develop the condition at some point in their lives, and nearly 40% of cases occur before age 20, according to the epidemiological data Lilly cited in its release. Early-onset AA can be more severe and lead to extensive hair loss during adolescence, a formative and socially sensitive stage of life.
Adrienne Brown, executive vice president and president of Lilly Immunology, called the approval “an important milestone for young people” living with severe alopecia areata, adding that affected families have had limited treatment options until now. She said the visible and often extensive hair loss that comes with severe AA can have a profound impact on adolescents at a pivotal stage of life, and that expanding Olumiant to patients as young as 12 provides a much-needed treatment choice while reinforcing Lilly’s commitment to advancing care for people with immune-mediated diseases.
Eli Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata Approval: What the FDA Decision Means for Adolescents
The newly expanded Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata indication applies specifically to patients 12 years of age and older with severe AA, extending a treatment pathway that had previously been limited to adults. Before this approval, adolescents with extensive, hard-to-treat hair loss had no FDA-approved systemic option tailored to their age group, leaving families to weigh off-label use or supportive therapies with limited pediatric evidence behind them.
It remains not known whether Olumiant is safe and effective in children younger than 12 years old with severe AA, or in children with juvenile idiopathic arthritis, and the approved labeling is explicit on that boundary. The FDA’s decision to extend the indication down to age 12, rather than to all minors, reflects the age range actually studied in Lilly’s pivotal pediatric trial. That age boundary matters for how physicians and families evaluate the Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata option going forward.
The Eli Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata regulatory record now spans three major markets. The FDA first approved Olumiant for adults with severe AA in 2022, making it the first systemic treatment cleared in the U.S. for the condition. In April 2026, the European Commission approved Olumiant for adolescents ages 12 to under 18 with severe AA, and the new U.S. pediatric approval brings the domestic label in line with that international precedent, alongside existing adolescent approval in Japan.
Eli Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata Data: Inside the BRAVE-AA-PEDS Phase 3 Trial Results
The Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata approval rests on 36-week data from the adolescent cohort of BRAVE-AA-PEDS (NCT05723198), described by Lilly as the first and largest Phase 3 study specifically designed to evaluate pediatric patients with severe AA. At baseline, participants had a median Severity of Alopecia Tool (SALT) score of 100, indicating complete scalp hair loss, and had lived with the disease for a mean of 6.4 years.
At Week 36, 42% of adolescents treated with Olumiant 4 mg and 27% treated with Olumiant 2 mg achieved 80% or more scalp hair coverage, measured as a SALT score of 20 or lower, compared with only 5% of those on placebo. A higher coverage threshold of 90% or more, measured as a SALT score of 10 or lower, was reached by 37% of patients on the 4 mg dose and 21% on the 2 mg dose, versus 2% on placebo. Patients on the 4 mg dose who had substantial baseline eyebrow and eyelash loss also showed improved coverage in those areas, an outcome families frequently cite as meaningful given how visible alopecia areata can be. These Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata results represent the primary efficacy evidence FDA reviewers relied on to expand the pediatric label.
Brittany Craiglow, M.D., adjunct associate professor of dermatology at Yale School of Medicine, said severe AA that starts early in life can become more extensive and harder to treat over time, making it important to consider all available treatment options early in the disease course. She added that evidence from a Phase 3 study purpose-built for pediatric patients helps clinicians and families make more informed decisions about advanced therapies. BRAVE-AA-PEDS enrolled a first cohort of 257 adolescents in a 1:1:1 randomization to placebo, Olumiant 4 mg, or Olumiant 2 mg, plus a second cohort of 166 adolescents randomized 1:1 between the two active doses to gather additional safety data.
Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata Safety Profile and Boxed Warning Considerations
The Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata safety findings did not surface new signals beyond those already known in adults. Lilly reported that the overall safety profile observed in adolescents 12 years of age and older with severe AA was consistent with the safety profile already established in adults treated with Olumiant for severe AA. The U.S. prescribing information carries a boxed warning covering the risk of serious infections, increased mortality, malignancy, major adverse cardiovascular events, and thrombosis — warnings that apply across Olumiant’s approved uses, including rheumatoid arthritis and hospitalized COVID-19 treatment in adults.
Common side effects reported in patients treated for alopecia areata include upper respiratory tract infections, headache, acne, elevated cholesterol and liver enzyme levels, urinary tract infection, folliculitis, fatigue, and herpes zoster (shingles), among others listed in the full prescribing information. Because Olumiant belongs to the JAK inhibitor class, the labeling also flags increased risk of certain cancers, including lymphoma and skin cancers, particularly in patients who currently smoke or have smoked in the past, along with increased risk of blood clots and major cardiovascular events in people 50 and older with at least one heart-disease risk factor.
On dosing, Olumiant is supplied as 1 mg, 2 mg, and 4 mg tablets, with a recommended starting dose of 2 mg once daily. Physicians may increase the dose to 4 mg per day if the treatment response is inadequate, and the labeling suggests considering a 4 mg starting dose for patients with nearly complete or complete scalp hair loss, with or without substantial eyebrow or eyelash involvement. Once an adequate response is achieved on the 4 mg dose, the recommendation is to step down to 2 mg per day for maintenance.
Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata Access: Pricing, Coverage and Patient Support
On the access side, Lilly said Olumiant currently has coverage at three of the largest U.S. pharmacy benefit managers for adults with severe AA, and the company offers co-pay assistance to eligible, commercially insured patients through Lilly Support Services for Olumiant. Net pricing and list price for the pediatric indication were Not disclosed in the September 25, 2026 release. Since 2017, more than 33,000 patients in the U.S. have been prescribed Olumiant across its approved indications, according to Lilly’s Enterprise Longitudinal Access and Adjudication Dataset. Taken together, these Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata access measures are designed to reduce financial barriers for newly eligible adolescent patients.
Olumiant was discovered by Incyte and licensed to Lilly under a December 2009 collaboration agreement covering baricitinib and related follow-on compounds for inflammatory and autoimmune diseases. George Gondo, chief mission officer of the National Alopecia Areata Foundation, said additional treatment choices give more families the opportunity to find the option best suited to their child in partnership with their doctor. With this pediatric clearance now in place, the Lilly Olumiant Alopecia Areata program extends a JAK inhibitor option that has been available to U.S. adults with severe AA since 2022 to adolescents who previously had few systemic treatment pathways designed specifically for their age group.
BRAVE-AA-PEDS Efficacy Data at Week 36 (Adolescent Cohort)
| Endpoint | Olumiant 4 mg | Olumiant 2 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| SALT score ≤20 (≥80% scalp coverage) | 42% | 27% | 5% |
| SALT score ≤10 (≥90% scalp coverage) | 37% | 21% | 2% |
| Eyebrow/eyelash coverage improvement (patients with substantial baseline loss) | Improved | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
BRAVE-AA-PEDS Trial Design Snapshot
| Parameter | Detail |
|---|---|
| Trial identifier | NCT05723198 |
| Phase | Phase 3, placebo-controlled |
| Population | Ages 12 to under 18 years, severe AA (SALT ≥50) |
| Cohort 1 | 257 participants, randomized 1:1:1 (placebo, 4 mg, 2 mg) |
| Cohort 2 | 166 participants, randomized 1:1 (4 mg vs. 2 mg, safety) |
| Primary endpoint | SALT ≤20 at Week 36 |
| Baseline median SALT score | 100 (complete scalp hair loss) |
| Mean AA duration at baseline | 6.4 years |
Regulatory and Access Milestones for Olumiant in Alopecia Areata
| Date | Milestone |
|---|---|
| 2022 | FDA approval for adults with severe AA; first systemic AA treatment approved in the U.S. |
| April 2026 | European Commission approval for adolescents (12 to under 18) with severe AA |
| Sept. 25, 2026 | FDA approval for pediatric patients 12+ with severe AA, based on BRAVE-AA-PEDS data |
| Since 2017 | More than 33,000 U.S. patients prescribed Olumiant (ELAAD, September 2026) |




